These stars award the German points

Updated 5/9/2022 5:03 p.m

  • The German jury for the ESC final on Saturday has been decided: Michelle, Max Giesinger, Felicia Lu, Tokunbo and Christian Brost award half of the points.
  • As usual, the other half is determined by the audience.
  • Barbara Schöneberger can then announce the points in the final.

More information about the ESC 2022 can be found here

The expert jury that will award the German points at the Eurovision Song Contest 2022 has been determined. NDR announced this shortly before the first semi-final on May 10th. President of the jury is pop singer Michelle. In 2001 she took eighth place at the ESC in Copenhagen with “Who Love Lives”.

Michelle’s comrades-in-arms are singer-songwriter Max Giesinger, his colleague Tokunbo and radio presenter Christian Brost. The jury is completed by Felicia Lu. The singer was present at the preliminary round for the German song for the ESC, but was defeated by Malik Harris. Harris will represent Germany in the final with his song “Rockstars”.

As in previous years, Barbara Schöneberger will present the German points at the live show. It is the seventh appearance in a row for the moderator.

Half of the points come from the German ESC jury

Michelle’s jury awards half of the points that Germany distributes at the ESC in Turin. As usual, the other half is determined by the audience. Both the jury and the audience not only vote in the final on May 14, but also in the semi-finals. The lot has determined that Germany may judge in the second semi-final on May 12th. As usual, the German vocal contribution is already set for the finale.

Also read: ESC “Countdown”: These stars appear with Barbara Schöneberger

Unlike the spectators, the jury does not only vote for the ESC winner during the live show. Michelle and Co. already vote during the dress rehearsal on the evening before the respective shows. Michelle, Giesinger, Felicia Lu, Tokunbo and Brost are not in Turin. Instead, they follow the performances together from Hamburg and form an opinion.
© 1&1 Mail & Media/spot on news


In 1974 a band caused a stir at the Grand Prix Eurovision de la Chanson, as the competition was called until 2003: ABBA. The competition catapulted Agnetha Fältskog, Anni-Frid Lyngstad, Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus into the pop Olympus. A steep career followed for many other musicians after the ESC.